Welcome, visitor! [ Register | LoginRSS Feed

Malaysia RM600 and RM60 Commemorative Note

| commemorative | July 23, 2021

The RM600 and RM60 commemorative banknotes are issued by Bank Negara Malaysia in conjunction with the 60th Anniversary of the Signing of the Federation of Malaya Independence Agreement.

These banknotes commemorate the 60th Anniversary of the Federation of Malaya Independence Agreement signing in the year 1957. The commemorative banknotes honour the Council (later called Conference) of Rulers’ contribution towards the realisation of the Nation’s independence on 31 August 1957. The Agreement dated 5 August 1957 proclaiming the Yang di-Pertuan Agong as the Supreme Head of the Federation was signed by the Malay Council of Rulers from Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Selangor and Terengganu with Sir Donald MacGillivray, the High Commissioner of the Federation of Malaya who represented Queen Elizabeth II. The Agreement became a historical constitutional evidence for the independence of the Federation of Malaya.

The specifications of the commemorative banknotes are as follows:

  1. Single RM600 Banknote
    This large-sized banknote has a face value of RM600 with printed quantity of 6,000 pieces.
  2. Uncut 3-in-1 RM60 Banknote
    This uncut banknote has a face value of RM180 with printed quantity of 6,000 pieces.
  3. Single RM60 Banknote
    This single banknote has a face value of RM60 with printed quantity of 60,000 pieces.

The RM600 note is also said to be the “biggest note in the world”, measuring 370mm by 220mm.

The design is based on the theme of “Raja Payung Kedaulatan Negara”. These commemorative banknotes are the first commemorative banknotes printed by Bank Negara Malaysia on the composite substrate, a combination of polymer and paper substrate, which offers higher security features and longer life span. These banknotes are printed larger in size, based on its face value.

Symbolising Malaysia as a constitutional monarchy, placed in the middle is the majestic royal throne encircled by the portraits of 15 Yang di-Pertuan Agong who have reigned from 1957 till the present day. The obverse design is inspired by the crescent and a 14-pointed federal star which are featured on the royal headgear.

The reverse design features the portraits of the nine rulers signing the Federation of Malaya Independence Agreement on 5 August 1957. These banknotes are decorated with prominent independence and post-independence figures and features.  On the right-hand side of the banknote is the triumphant silhouette of Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra Al-Haj, the architect of Malayan independence and the first Prime Minister of Malaysia. Imprinted on the background are four significant landmarks: the National Palace, Perdana Putra, the Parliament building and the Palace of Justice. These reflect the four pillars of the nation: the institution of the Monarchy, the Executive, the Legislature and the Judiciary respectively.

No Tags

30 total views, 1 today